Human Traffic

8:55 p.m.

I used to spend these moments wishing that I had the ability to transport myself from one place to another in seconds. Other times I would imagine myself pushing away the people in front of me… or just cutting in line (which, of course, is far less brutal).

I could easily estimate how long I would have to wait, and once I have that estimate, I would hysterically look for something to pass the time.

My estimate for tonight is an hour and a half. That’s pretty tough, isn’t it? Oh, but believe me, I’ve been through worse. Others have gone through THE worst. Waiting feels a lot more difficult when you have to stand all the while and you’re on your first day. Hello to all my fellow women out there!

Strangely though, as I walked towards the spot at the very end of the line, I felt surprisingly calm and nonchalant. I looked inside my bag for something that could somehow entertain me during this little “journey” of mine. Guess what? I found my phone!

Yeah, that’s not surprising. If you were in my place, you’d most likely find the same thing –  that is unless you have some sort of a PlayStation or a book, in which case I envy you.

You would probably say that I’d just text someone and I could have myself an instant conversation. But no, unfortunately, texting is far from possible for me right now.

[Note: “Texting” is not considered an official verb yet. I wonder why.]

I am writing with my phone. Yay me, right?!

I feel really bad for the woman standing behind me, though. She’s been tsk-ing more and more as we get closer to the end of the line. She also has this coin in her hand which I wish she would donate to the people begging for it, instead of repeatedly tapping it on a stainless steel bar.

Oh, I’m not complaining. I know exactly how she feels. She just wants to get home. I wish she could feel how I feel right now. I wish I could pass it on. Sadly, it doesn’t work like that most of the time.


Oh, hey! The line just moved! I’m really happy! You can tell by my consecutive use of exclamation points. And this happiness isn’t just for me, it’s for the other people waiting in line too! Just a few more minutes and we’ll all be on our way home!

This feels great.

One of my professors said that when we’re feeling suffocated by all the stress we’ve been experiencing, we should find time to breathe. Although, I wasn’t expecting that my “breathing time” to be in an air- and land-polluted terminal, surrounded by “stores”. Fate is weird.


10:21 p.m.

It’s almost our turn! We’re very close!


10:23 p.m.

We’re on my way home. Thank goodness!

I asked and prayed for more patience. This was a very good exercise.

Leave a Reply

